Astrophotography with a Google Pixel (pt 4)

Filters (UHC)

Back in part 1 of this series I posted a RAW format image of the Cygnus region of the Milky Way taken with a UHC filter balanced precariously on the camera lens. This is an annotated version of that original:

There’s lots of dark and bright nebulae visible already, but check out this very quick process (done on my phone using Snapseed):

Incredibly, The North American Nebula is big, bright and obvious to the left of Deneb, and even the Veil Nebula (east and west sides) is discernible. This was shot using the default AP settings, not with a modded version of the camera. I will have to try the latter when I get a chance, as the brighter images produced might help bring out more nebulosity. We’ll see …

To make using filters easier, I made a thing from something called Formcard, which I got from eBay …

This one’s for my 1.25-inch OIII filter, which I hope to try soon. It’s not pretty, but it does hold the filter in place over the camera lens. This one is for the 2-inch UHC filter in preparation for the next session.

Definitely neater than the first one I made…

As soon as I’ve had a chance to try the OIII filter I’ll cover that in the next post. And with lots of nebulous objects heading our way over the winter (I’m already excited to try this on the Rosette) I’m sure I’ll be posting lots of updates…

Part 5 in this exploration of AP using the Pixel 7A is here.

Leave a comment