Helios Naturesport Plus 10×50 – first impressions

Hi,

I got these for Xmas, and haven’t had a chance to try them on any astronomical targets yet, except for a very brief look at the moon (a couple of days after full); it did look very nice, though, with very good contrast and sharp detail. I’ll post another review once I’ve had a proper go. For now, though, I thought a brief first impressions report might be useful.

I was initially a little concerned that it didn’t say ‘Plus’ anywhere on the binoculars, but upon checking on First Light Optics’ site, I was reassured (FLO only carries one Helios model).

imag0223.jpg
imag0224.jpg

The second concern I had was the weight. FLO’s website has these as 790g, but in our scales they’re closer to a kilo, and they do feel a little heavy in use.

imag0222.jpg

As far as the optics go, though, they do seem very good. I’ve only had them out in the daytime, looking at trees and buildings in the distance, and the views are very sharp, with no chromatic aberration, and little if any distortion at the edges.

Sky at Night magazine rated these as the best sub-£125 binoculars available, and I’m certainly getting the impression that they’re very good. Binocular Sky also rated these highly, and I cannot wait to try them on the night sky. I’ll post another review when I do.

Leave a comment